Chakra Meditation: Everything About The Divine Practice

Yoga and meditation are the most divine practices and exercises to help the body and mind collectively. We have heard a lot about meditation from our elders, teachers, and these days on social media and books that scream self-love and other self-regulation techniques. A self-help book is incomplete without the mention of mediation or mindfulness.

Though these things are different, their motive is the same- to bring peace into your head. Meditation is a practice where you calm your mind and thoughts. These days, the excessive stressors and other issues in our lives do not really let us be in peace. A lot is going on each day. Each day is a struggle for adults.

Adulting is definitely one of the major turning points in our lives. Young adults are more likely to get stressed at the slightest of stressors in the environment. Around 49% of adults agree that their stress is a result of comparisons made between themselves and others.

These stressors and even other issues can be cured with the help of mediation and yoga. Regular and correct practice of chakra meditation can lead to a big change in your life. Many people admit that meditation has led to a drastic change in their personalities, or their lifestyle, and has cured their anger issues or anxiety over time. Let us look in detail at chakra meditation.

What is Chakra Meditation?

Chakra meditation works as an umbrella term for different kinds of meditations that lead to vacating of the blocked chakras, thereby harnessing the power within the energy centers throughout the body. Now, what is ‘Chakra’? You must ask. The term Chakra is derived from the Sanskrit language, and it literally means ‘wheel’ or a ‘disk’. It denotes the shape of the spiraling energy centers that connect our body, mind, and spirit. These centers of energy are 7 in total in a human being.

These are located at different locations.

The seven chakras are:

  • Sahasrara- The crown chakra:
Sahasrara- The crown chakra
Sahasrara- The crown chakra

This is the topmost located chakra. It is placed in our heads and accounts for functioning in an enlightened way, cultivation of self-mastery, and building of connection with all.

  • Ajna- The third eye chakra:
Ajna- The third eye chakra
Ajna- The third eye chakra

As Shiva’s third eye, this one is placed between our eyes on the forehead. It is responsible to help us grow mentally, emotionally, and spiritually.

  • Vissudha- The throat chakra:
Vissudha- The throat chakra
Vissudha- The throat chakra

Vissudha is present at the base of your throat. It makes us learn and find credible self-expression.

  • Anahata- The heart chakra:
Anahata- The heart chakra
Anahata- The heart chakra

The heart chakra very much resonates with the emotional function of our heart- to tap unconditional love. This one is located at the center of our chest.

  • Manipura- Solar Plexus chakra:
Manipura- Solar Plexus chakra
Manipura- Solar Plexus chakra

Located at the belly button, Manipura chakra is responsible to give us the confidence to leave what doesn’t serve us and keep what is necessary.

  • Svadhisthana- Sacral chakra:
Svadhisthana- Sacral chakra
Svadhisthana- Sacral chakra

This one is located at the pelvic region and regulates the emotional function of our body. It makes us know about our emotions and desires and compelled us to not be driven by them.

  • Muladhara-Root chakra:
Muladhara-Root chakra
Muladhara-Root chakra

Located at the base of the spine, Muladhara is responsible for maintaining inner stability and groundedness.

Here, we are done with the seven chakras that are described under the preposition of chakra meditation. It’s time now we understand how exactly chakra meditation is done.

How to perform chakra meditation?

Chakra mediation has all sorts of practices that result in a variety of outcomes ranging from mental stability, emotional peace, to spiritual awakening.

Here are some simple steps to perform the basic chakra meditation:


  • Know your chakras. Before starting with chakra meditation, it is important that you understand each chakra precisely.


  • The next step is to choose the right environment to kick start your mediation journey. Make yourself comfortable, most preferably in some quiet room or outdoors. Make sure the potential sounds are turned off, your clothes are not right and your body is not stiff. Make yourself at ease. Sink yourself into the environment.


  • Relax your body. Loosen up the stiffness in your body. Do not think much at this in. Leave thoughts behind, leave any stressor or stiffness behind. Start with deep breathing to relax your muscles and body gradually.


  • Now you start imagining the chakra’s location and try to perceive a light passing through each of these chakras. Always remember to start from the bottom reaching the top chakra. Starting at the base, that is the root chakra, and end at the crown chakra. This indicates the locking of chakras from the most primitive portion of the body herby reaching the most developed one, the mind.


  • Your chakras need to be energized. Consider each chakra as a flower with light flowing through it. As the light passes in, your stress is released away from the chakra.


  • Now align the chakras and remember to rotate clockwise for better results.


  • As you do this, you need to come back slowly to the original position.


Benefits of chakra meditation:

  • Compassion is proliferated towards other living beings.
  • Willow per is strengthened as a result of chakra meditation.
  • Sense of love and life is increased by chakra meditation.
  • Negative energy to positive energy transformed easily.
  • Healing takes a quicker span.

See More:

Amazing Health Benefits of Vajrasana

Various Sitting Poses to Make Body Strong and Healthy


Leave a Comment